A cell normally contains 54 chromosomes. During which phases of mitosis does the cell contain 108 chromosomes?

(I.) Anaphase
(II.) Metaphase
(III.) Prophase
(IV.) Telophase


(A) I and IV
(B) II and III
(C) II and IV
(D) I, II, and III
(E) I, II, and IV
  1. Correct Answer: A


    The sister chromatids making up each of the 54 chromosomes separate in anaphase and move to opposite poles of the cell in telophase. In these two phases, the cell contains 108 distinct chromosomes.

Test ID: 1305
Source: SAT Biology Practice Tests